2017 City Election Information - Updated March 31, 2017

Polling Locations

The city election is to be held on Tuesday, April 11, 2017. Polls open at 7:00 a.m. and close at 8:00 p.m. The polling place for the election is:

- District 4 - First Church of Christ, Scientist, 48 West Park Place

Need help identifying your district? View the Election Polling Places application here!
The City of Newark Election Polling Places application helps citizens locate their election polling place and obtain information about current elected officials. To locate a polling place, simply click on the map or enter an address in the search box. The polling place and respective voting precinct will then be highlighted on the map and information about the polling place will appear in a pop-up box on the page. For an instructional video on how to operate the polling place application, click here. The Polling Place application has been updated for the 2017 City Council election.

A form of identification will be required of all voters. For absentee ballots, please contact the City Secretary's Office at (302) 366-7000.


Filed Candidates for the 2017 Election for District 1 (two year term): 
- Mark Morehead

Filed Candidates for the 2017 Election for District 2 (two year term): 
- George (Jerry) Clifton
- Sharon Hughes (Withdrew from ballot on March 31, 2017)
Filed Candidates for the 2017 Election for District 4 (two year term): 
- Margrit Hadden
- Christopher Hamilton
The filing deadline for all districts for the 2017 Election was Monday, February 6, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. The written decision from the March 7, 2017 Election Board meeting regarding candidate eligibility can be found here.

As there is only one candidate on the ballot for Districts 1 and 2, Mark Morehead and Jerry Clifton will be declared the winners of the election by the Election Board per Section 10-19 of the City Code and no formal election for that office shall be held.

Voter Registration

*** To vote in the April 11, 2017 election, you must be registered by Monday, March 20, 2017. ***

Requirements to Vote

  • You must be at least 18 years old by Election Day.
  • You must be a U.S. citizen.
  • You must have established residency in the city for at least 24 days prior to the election.

Any individual who is registered to vote with the State of Delaware at a residence within the corporate limits of the City of Newark is eligible to vote. If you are unsure if you are registered, please call the City Secretary’s office at (302) 366-7000 and a staff member can look up your registration. You may register to vote through the State Department of Elections here.

Request an Absentee Ballot

You can request to have an absentee ballot be sent to your home. To request an absentee ballot for city elections, fill out this form and send to the City Secretary's Office at:

City of Newark
City Secretary's Office
220 South Main Street
Newark, DE 19711

You may stop by the office between 8:30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, where you may vote in person and have your ballot notarized.

Absentee ballots are now available. All absentee ballots must be returned to the City Secretary’s Office no later than 5:00 p.m. the day of the election.

More Information

If you have specific questions about city elections, you may call the City Secretary's Office at (302) 366-7000. For further information, you may call the New Castle County Department of Elections at (302) 577-3464.

Election Calendar

February 6, 2017, 5:00 p.m. - Deadline to file to run in the April 11, 2017 election for Council Member in Districts 1, 2 and 4.

March 7, 2017, 6:00 p.m. - Election Board meeting to determine candidate eligibility. Additional information can be found here. The written decision of the Election Board regarding this issue can be found here.

March 20, 2017 - Deadline to register to vote in the April 11, 2017 election.

April 11, 2017 - Election Day Polls open 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.; Deadline to submit absentee ballots to the City Secretary's Office at 5:00 p.m.

April 13, 2017 - Election Board meeting at 5:00 p.m. to certify election results.

April 20, 2017 - Organizational meeting and swearing in of new Council members.